Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Social League Cup Finals - Wednesday, 18 September 2019

Photo:  Brighton Storm with their trophy [PlessPix]

Social League 5 Cup Final

Brighton Storm 4 (Bayley Campbell 22, 55, 65, Tait Gill 37) beat Kingborough Lions United 2 (Jesse Arnold 42, Lee Mackie 72 pen)

Photo:  Cup-winners Beachside after tonight's final against Kingborough [PlessPix]

Social League 6 Cup Final

Beachside 3 (Harry Coomer 18, Simon Burrett 61, 66) beat Kingborough Lions United 1 (Michael Stephens 82)

Photo:  Beachside team manager Riley Pullen and  his father, coach Brett Pullen, with their winners' medals [PlessPix]

Photo:  Kingborough Lions United's Southern Championship 5 team were presented with the league championship trophy and medals at half-time of the Social League 6 Cup Final this evening [PlessPix]

Photo:  Brighton's Tait Gill lines up a shot [PlessPix]

Photo:  Hat-trick hero Bayley Campbell about to shoot [PlessPix]

Photo:  Beachside's Bernhard Klasen in possession.  It was his brilliant pass which set up the opening goal. [PlessPix]

Photo:  Kingborough's Adrian Pereira hooks the ball away and stops a Beachside attack [PlessPix]

Photo:  Lee Mackie scores a late penalty for Kingborough against Brighton Storm [PlessPix]

Photo:  Beachside's Robert Knight pursues the ball [PlessPix]

Photo:  Social League 6 Cup Final referee Claire Green, flanked by assistant Daniel Bowerman (left) and Alex Ruut [PlessPix]

Photo:  Kingborough's Warren Iles gets a pass away from midfield.  Iles later had to leave the fray after a rib or shoulder injury. [PlessPix]

Northern Rangers' Robert Gerrard takes out 2019 George Dale Medal

Robert Gerrard and Moana Chamberlain of Northern Rangers have taken out the top awards at the 2019 Veto Northern Awards night.

Gerrard polled 23 votes to claim the George Dale Medal by a single vote from  Somerset’s Astyn Johnson.

Launceston United’s Yasin Mohamadi was third on 18 votes, with Devonport duo Charles Bidwell and Connor Lizotte finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Chamberlain won the women’s award with 26 votes.

Riverside’s Meg Connolly came second with 23 votes.

Three players shared third spot with 17 Votes each, while Riverside’s Chelsea Baker and Panayiota Antypas joined Sarah Roberts from Devonport in the top-five.

In the Northern Championship 1 competition, Kamil Douglas won with 19votes, one more than teammate Grant Ashdown.

Under-18s Golden Boot winner Josh Bula also took out the Under 18s best-and-fairest award ahead of Fletcher Fulton from Launceston United.

In the awards voted on by the coaches, the top referee award went to Nathan Brain, while Jacob Ball was the Young Referee of the Year.

Chris McKenna of Devonport City was voted the Coach-of-the-Year in the Men’s Championship, while Greg Duffy of Launceston United was the Coach-of-the-Year in the Women’s Championship.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Last Hobart Zebras team bows out with cup final defeat to Knights

Photo:  Glenorchy Knights display their silverware [PlessPix]

(Southern Championship 2 Cup Final, KGV Park, Tuesday, 17 September 2019)

Glenorchy Knights 1 (I Mahlangu 37)
Hobart Zebras 0

HT: 1-0   Ref:  S Plomaritis

Glenorchy Knights:  Graham;  Cano, Y Fuentes, Hagino, Holmes, Lesa, Mahlangu, Roberts, Sterpin, Taiwo, Dingjan  (Interchange:  Dzelalija, O Fuentes, Heather, Phillips, Hindley)

Hobart Zebras:  Soszynski;  Allocca, Brazendale, Connolly, Coutinho, Di Ienno, Ditton, Fraraccio, Grillas, Kaponas, Laird, Palermo, Rocchia, Roussos, Venettacci

Photo:  The last-ever Hobart Zebras team after tonight's cup final [PlessPix]

Glenorchy Knights won the Southern Championship 2 cup final 1-0 through a brilliant goal by Innocent Mahlangu.

In the 38th minute, Mahlangu fired home a superb volley from the edge of the box that gave Zebras keeper Michael Soszynski no chance.

This cup final featured a sad note in the history of the game in Tasmania.  It was the last time a Hobart Zebras side would be in action.  This very evening, a vote on a merger between Hobart Zebras and Clarence United was held by the two clubs and the proposal was accepted.

Photo:  Knights' Daniel Holmes tangles with Zebras' Kosta Grillas [PlessPix]

The game was fast and furious, but there were few chances.

Kosta Grillas had a powerful shot saved by Knights keeper Hugh Graham in the first half.  Graham was carrying an injury and probably shouldn’t have been playing, but he emerged unscathed and with his goal intact.

Knights had a strong claim for a penalty turned down in the second half.

Zebras tried desperately to grab an equaliser in the second half but, as a large moon rose in the sky, they ran out of time and Knights claimed the trophy.

Photo:  Knights' Will Roberts has a shot from range [PlessPix]

Photo:  Knights' Kento Hagino (left) and Elmer Cano (right) try to contain Zebras' Matthew Laird [PlessPix]

Photo:  Zebras keeper Michael Soszynski picks the ball out of the net after Innocent Mahlangu is congratulated by team-mates for a brilliant and decisive goal [PlessPix]

Photo:  Knights goalkeeper Hugh Graham catches a corner [PlessPix]

Photo:  Zebras coaching staff (L-R) Fabio Di Tomasso, Emanuel Roussos and Simon Robustelli urge their players on [PlessPix]

Photo:  Bentley, the dog belonging to Knights president Tony Bacic, tries to make it 12 players for Knights before the second half kicks off [PlessPix]

Photo:  Josh Dingjan hands Bentley to his master, Knights president Tony Bacic [PlessPix]