Monday, September 10, 2018

Brayden Mann scoops awards in 2018

 Photo:  Brayden Mann [PlessPix]

Brayden Mann, the Devonport City striker, won the 2018 Mitsubishi Medal as the NPL Tasmania best and fairest player.

He polled an incredible 40 votes, which is a new record.

Way back in second place with 19 votes was South Hobart’s Brazilian striker, Renato De Vecchi Marins.

Mann’s Devonport City team-mate, Michael Holden, won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award, voted on by his peers.

Mann was second in the MVP, but he also won the Golden Boot award as the league’s top scorer with 35 goals.

Ulverstone’s Georgia Foote was the winner of the Optus Medal for 2018 as the best player in the Women’s Super League.

Georgia was a point ahead of her sister, Lucy, while team-mate Jazmin Gorrie was third.

Lucy Foote took out the MVP Award and Georgia was second.

Kingborough Lions United’s Laura Davis was third and Jazmin Gorrie and Clarence United goalkeeper Amelia Vanderniet were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Olympia Warriors striker Joffrey N’Koso won the Rising Star Award as the best young player.

The NPL coach of the year was Devonport City’s Chris Gallo, while the Women’s Super League coach of the year was won jointly by Ulverstone’s joint coaches Mal Gorrie and Lucy Foote.

The Golden Glove goalkeeping awards went to Devonport City’s Nathan Pitchford and Ulverstone’s Georgia Anderson.

The referee of the year awards went to Stratos Plomaritis (for the NPL) and Jonno Calcraft (for the WSL).

The goal of the year awards, decided by a popular vote, went to Lucy Johsnon and Noah Mies.

No comments: