Wednesday, October 25, 2023

University awards night at The Pickled Pear

Photo:  George Ivanov (right) was University's leading marksman in 2023. [PlessPix] 

Championship club University held their awards night at The Pickled Pear on the University of Tasmania Sandy Bay campus last Saturday evening.

Their award winners are listed below.

Guy Clift (Outstanding service to the Club) - Ellisa Bowditch

Athenian Award (excellence and Sportsmanship) - Michelle Bourke

Clubman Award - Lauren McShane

Goalkeeper Award - Noah Menner

Leading Goal Scorer - George Ivanov

Best Team - Women’s Championship

Photo:  Aaron Marney (left) won the Tom Ballantyne Award. [PlessPix] 

 Women’s Coaches Award - Evie Dudgeon & Ellisa Bowditch

Tom Ballantyne Men’s Coaches Award - Aaron Marney

Men’s Champ 1 Coaches Award - Tom McKernan

Women’s Most Improved - Emma Xu

Men’s Most Improved - Trent Green

Best Female First Year Player - Emma Street

Best Male First Year Player - Nicholas Devereaux

Photo:  Declan Brown. [PlessPix] 

 Men’s Championship Players Player - Declan Brown

Women’s Championship Players Player - Polly Tantari

Men’s Championship 1 Players Player - Jac Ryan-Buchanan

Women’s Championship 1 Players Player - Claire Farrell

Photo:  Ellisa Bowditch (second from right) watches the outcome of a heading duel. [PlessPix] 

 Best & Fairest Awards:

Women’s Championship - Michelle Bourke

Women’s Championship 1 - Claire Farrell

Men’s Championship - Gus Rumney

Men’s Championship 1 - Jac Ryan-Buchanan & Sam Howcroft

Social Division 1 - Paul Bremner

Social Division 3 - Jason Ash-Williams

Sunday, October 22, 2023

Charles Bidwell scales heights at Devonport Awards

Photo:  Charles Bidwell won the Harold Pattison Medal as Devonport Strikers' best-and-fairest player. [PlessPix] 

NPL Tasmania Men

Harold Pattison Medal (best and fairest) - 1. Charles Bidwell 23 votes, 2. Taylor Last 17 votes, 3. Brody Denehey, Roberto Fernandez Garrido, Dom Smith 14 votes.

Players' Player award - Charles Bidwell

NPL Tasmania Under 21s

Ben Ralston Memorial Award (best and fairest) - 1. Liam Kelly 19 votes, 2. Brad O'Toole 14 votes, 3. Jordan Payne 13 votes.

Women's Super League

Best and fairest award - 1. Jazmin White and Georgia King 29 votes, 3. Sam Hardy and Annelee Bidwell 10 votes.

Coaches award - Abbie White

Northern Championship Men

Chris McKenna Medal (best and fairest) - 1. Adam Jago and Danyon Lyall 17 votes, 3. Tom Emmett 15 votes.

Northern Championship 1 Men

Peter Best Medal (best and fairest) - 1. Nathan Gratton 22 votes, 2. Hayden Northcott 15 votes, 3. Jack Ansell 12 votes.

Northern Championship Women

Best and Fairest award - 1. Mikayla Goss 18 votes, 2. Holly Emmett 15 votes, 3. Krysie Jeffrey 12 votes.

Northern Social League 

Paul Bubb Medal (best and fairest): 1. Jesse Embrey 20 votes, 2. Roman Shrestha 9 votes, 3. Ryan Wilson 6 votes.

Male Youth Player of the Year award - Mitch Burley

Female Youth Player of the Year award - Mia Smith

President's Award - Rod Andrews

[My thanks for this information go to Brad Cole.]