Monday, June 8, 2020

Tassie's Kurt Reynolds captained Australia against Czechoslovakia at KGV Park in 1986

Photo:  Match report of the game published in "Soccer Action" on 13 August 1986.

The last Czech players to play in Tasmania were Jakub Sklenar and Jan Charuza.

Sklenar, a striker, played for Olympia Warriors in 2016 and 2017 before joining Hobart Zebras until 2018.

He scored 28 goals in 19 appearances for Olympia.

Charuza was a defender with Hobart Zebras in 2018 and 2019.

I wonder how many people know or remember that the Czechoslovakia national youth team played Australia’s Young Socceroos at KGV Park in August 1986?

Australia won 3-0 before a crowd of 1,500 through goals by Jason van Blerk (24th minute), Scott Ollerenshaw (86th) and Lou Hristodoulou 90th).

Photo:  Tasmania's Kurt Reynolds captained the Young Socceroos [PlessPix]

Tasmania’s Kurt Reynolds, the Young Socceroos captain at the time, was at the heart of the Aussie’s defence.

Tasmania’s only-ever FIFA referee, Jack Johnston, was in charge and I gave him a rating of 9 out of 10 for his performance.

The teams (and ratings out of 10) were:

Australia:  Bouhoutsas 7  -  Kulcsar 6 (Cummings 46, 7)  -  Harley 6, Reynolds 7, Northam 8  -  Markovski 6 (Koch 80), Polak 8, Hristodoulou 7  -  Edwards 7, Ollerenshaw 7, van Blerk 9

Czechoslovakia:  Ondruska 8  -  Bodnar 8, Skarabela 8, Margolius 7, Chlpik 6  -  Mikus 8, Gala 6, Foldyna 6  -  Zarsky 6 (Kriz 46th 6), Trval 8 (Griga 76)

The Czechs started strongly and dominated the opening quarter of an hour, but the Young Socceroos’ defence was sound.

After that opening burst by the Czechs, the Australians gained the upper hand and led 1-0 at the break.

It was not until the last five minutes that Australia made the result safe with two more goals.

Jason van Blerk was brilliant in attack for Australia and it was only fine goalkeeping by Slovak goalkeeper Ivan Ondruska that prevented more goals.

The Young Socceroos, coached by Les Scheinflug, went on to the following year’s Under-20 Youth World Cup in Chile.

Australia were in Group A, where they beat Togo 2-0 but lost 2-0 to host nation Chile and 4-0 to eventual winners Yugoslavia.

No comments: