Sunday, October 13, 2019

Imports scoop the prestigious awards at Olympia Warriors' presentation night

Photo (L-R):  Jack Ryan, Bay Kurtz and Jordan Scott with their trophies [PlessPix]

The imports stole the show at last night’s Olympia Warriors presentation night at the O Bar in Hobart.

Jordan Scott, the English midfielder, won the prestigious John Kalis Memorial Trophy awarded to the best player in the NPL team with 152 votes.

Scott received the trophy from Andrew and Katina McMasters, the grandchildren of the late John Kalis.

Photo:  Jordan Scott is presented with his award by Katina and Andrew McMasters [PlessPix]

The Coach’s Award went to American utility player Bay Kurtz and was presented by Olympia’s NPL coach Rob Clarke, while the Jim Karipidis Golden Boot Award for the leading scorer went to Englishman Jack Ryan.

Photo:  Voula Pleonie and Jack Ryan [PlessPix]

Ryan received his award from Jim Karipidis’s daughter, Voula Pleonie.

The club’s Goal of the Year Award went to NPL midfielder Jonathon Ladic for the club’s opening goal of the season against South Hobart, a superb volley from the edge of the box.

Olympia captain Lucas Hill presented Ladic with the award.

Photo:  A beaming Jonathon Ladic (left) and Lucas Hill [PlessPix]

The John Fiotakis Women’s Best-and-Fairest Award went to Maddie Chambers.

Women’s Super League coach Alistair Russell presented Sophie Leszczynski with the Coach’s Award.

Photo:  Maddie Chambers flanked by John Fiotakis and Alistair Russell [PlessPix] 

Photo:  Sophie Leszczynski and Alistair Russell [PlessPix]

The Luca Mamacas Challenge League Best-and-Fairest Award, presented by Olympia’s president, George Mamacas, went to Sam Hills, while the Challenge League Coach’s Award, presented by coach Tom Pinkiewicz, was won by Austin Yost.

Photo:  Michael Moschogianis with his award [PlessPix]

The President’s Trophy went to Michael Moschogianis for his outstanding contribution to the club in many areas.

Elizabeth Scott won the Women’s Southern Championship Best-and-Fairest Award, while the Women’s Southern Championship Coach’s Award went to Sarah Townsend.  Both awards were presented by coach David Visentin.

Photo:  Sarah Townsend and David Visentin [PlessPix] 

Photo:  Elizabeth Scott and David Visentin [PlessPix]

The Minas Karydis Best-and-Fairest Award for the Under-18s went to Sam Boscoe and was presented by George Verrios.

Under-18s coach Nick Taylor presented the Coach’s Award to Alex Tween.

The Southern League 1 Best-and-Fairest Award went to Mason Casboult and was presented by Apostolis Kaproulias, who also presented the Southern League 1 Coach’s Award to Che Mohamad.

Photo:  Che Mohamad (left) and Apostolis Kaproulias [PlessPix]

Photo:  Apostolis Kaproulias (left) and Mason Casboult [PlessPix]

Photo:  George Verrios (left) and George Mamacas make a presentation [PlessPix] 

Photo:  Tom Pinkiewicz (left) and Austin Yost [PlessPix]

Photo:  Jordan Scott and the Kalis Family [PlessPix]

Photo (L-R):  The Olympia committee Francis Callan, Jim Patiniotis, Julia Rabitsch, George Verrios, Tom Otte, George Mamacas, Sarah Black and Stuart Allan [PlessPix] 

Photo:  Francis Callan (left) and Stuart Allan with their clubman award [PlessPix]

Photo:  Bay Kurtz with his Coach's Award and coach Rob Clarke [PlessPix]

Photo (L-R):  Nick Taylor, Bay Kurtz, Jordan Scott and Rob Clarke [PlessPix]

Photo:  Olympia's coach, Rob Clarke, and partner Nicole [PlessPix]

Photo:  The victorious Olympia social league side [PlessPix]

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Walter, thanks as always for the coverage. fyi the second Olympia womens team played Southern Championship, not Southern Championship 1. Also you have Elizabeth Scott and Sarah Townsend mixed up in the photos. Thanks again for taking the time to be a part of all the different clubs awards nights