Monday, December 7, 2009

AFC Champions League draw made today

The draw for the 2010 AFC Champions League was held this afternoon in Kuala Lumpur.

There are 32 teams divided into eight groups of four and split into western and eastern Asia zones.

Adelaide United, the 2008 runners-up but currently bottom of the A-League, have been drawn in Group H, together with the current champions Pohang Steelers of South Korea, China’s Shandong Luneng and the winners of the Japanese Emperor’s Cup, which won’t be played until 1 January.

Melbourne Victory are in Group E, together with Japan’s Kawasaki Frontale, who have been runners-up in the J-League for three of the past four seasons, Chinese champions Beijing Guoan, and the Korean K-League runners-up Seongnam Ilhwa.

All the groups are listed below:

AFC Champions League 2010 – Group Stage


Group A – Al Ahli (KSA), Al Gharafa (QAT), Al Jazira (UAE), Esteghlal (IRN)

Group B – Zob Ahan (IRN), Al Ittihad (KSA), Bunyodkor (UZB), Playoff winners

Group C – Al Ain (UAE), Sepahan (IRN), Al Shabab (KSA), Pakhtakor (UZB)

Group D – Al Sadd (QAT), Al Ahli (UAE), Mes Kerman (IRN), Al Hilal (KSA)


Group E – Seongnam Ilhwa (KOR), Melbourne Victory (AUS), Beijing Guoan (CHN), Kawasaki Frontale (JPN)

Group F – Kashima Antlers (JPN), Jeonbuk Motors (KOR), Persipura Jayapura (IDN), Changchun Yatai (CHN)

Group G – Henan Jianye (CHN), Gamba Osaka (JPN), Suwon Bluewings (KOR), Playoff winners

Group H – Adelaide United (AUS), Shandong Luneng (CHN), Cup winners (JPN), Pohang Steelers (KOR)

No comments: