Sunday, September 8, 2019

Joel Stone and Madison Chambers stars of awards presentation night

Photo:  Olympia's Madison Chambers with her two awards [PlessPix]

Joel Stone of Devonport City scooped the pool as far as the 2019 NPL Tasmania men’s awards were concerned at last night’s award presentation dinner at Wrest Point Hotel Casino.

Stone took out three awards:  NPL Best and Fairest Player;  Players’ Most Valuable Player; Walter Pless Media Award.

Madison Chambers of Olympia Warriors won the highest honours in the Women’s Super League awards.

Chambers won the Best and Fairest Award, and the Most Valuable Player Award, while she was narrowly beaten for the Women’s Super League Media Award by Hobart Zebras’ Allie Berry.

Goalkeepers Nathan Pitchford (Devonport) and Jenna Farrow (Olympia) won the respective Golden Glove Awards.

Mathew Sanders of Hobart Zebras won the NPL Golden Boot Award in the NPL, while Ulverstone’s Jazmin White won the Golden Boot in the Women’s Super League.

Goal-of-the-Year awards went to Jonathon Ladic (Olympia) in the NPL and Georgia King (Ulverstone) in the WSL.

Brenton Kopra was the NPL Referee-of-the-Year, while Alfonso Giusti was the WSL Referee-of-the-Year.

Photo:  Ulverstone's Amy Bissett [PlessPix]

The Rising Star Awards went to Riverside Olympic goalkeeper Jarrod Hill and Ulverstone’s Amy Bissett.

Devonport’s Rick Coghlan was the NPL Coach-of-the-Year and Chris Hey the WSL Coach-of-the-Year.

Glenorchy Knights’ Nick Naden won the inaugural Sportsmanship Award.

Photo:  Alfonso Giusti (right) with FT's referees' manager Tony Peart [PlessPix] 

Photo:  Hobart Zebras' Allie Berry with her award [PlessPix]

[My sincere apologies to all other award winners.  My memory card was corrupted and the above photos are the only ones I was able to retrieve. This has never happened before and, frankly, I'm devastated.]


Phil Owen said...

Probably by a bloke fetching a lens cap Walter.

Walter said...

Ah! Now I know the culprit, Phil.

Anonymous said...

Walter would love to know your team of the year