Wednesday, September 14, 2022

2022 award winners

Photo:  Kingborough's Kobe Kemp (right) in action against Knights. [PlessPix]  

Kobe Kemp and Jazmin White have taken out the highest honours at Football Tasmania’s 2022 McDonald’s NPL Tasmania and MyState Bank Women’s Super League Awards, held last night at MyState Bank Arena.

Devonport Strikers forward Jazmin White won the MyState Bank Women’s Best and Fairest, while also taking home the Golden Boot after an impressive season in front of goals.

The NPL Best and Fairest award went to Kingborough Lions midfielder Kobe Kemp.

South Hobart’s Nick Morton and Kingborough Lions’ Danielle Kannegiesser were recognised by their peers as Players’ MVPs.

Glenorchy Knights’ Eli Luttmer and Launceston United’s Ellie La Monte were adjudged most impressive by the pundits, taking out the Walter Pless Media Award and MyState Bank Women’s Media Award respectively, while Clarence Zebras young guns Curtis Miley and Elianna Diafokeris’ breakout seasons saw them named Rising Star of their respective leagues.

Devonport was home to all four Golden Boot and Golden Glove awards, with the Strikers’ Roberto Fernandez Garrido joining clubmate White at the top of the scoring tables, while Keegan Smith and Brooke Bennett’s ability to keep goals out saw them take home the Golden Glove awards.

Brenton Kopra and Alex Tween were recognised as the best WSL and NPL referees respectively.

On the sidelines, Devonport’s Malcolm Gorrie was named MyState Bank Women’s Super League Coach of the Year, while Lino Sciulli received the equivalent award in the NPL.

Football Tasmania CEO Matt Bulkeley congratulated all award recipients, thanking everyone involved for contributing to a successful season for top-flight Tasmanian football.

“I would like to thank all the players, coaches, referees and club volunteers for their contribution to another successful season in the McDonald’s NPL and MyState Bank Women’s Super League,” Mr Bulkeley said.

“In particular, I’d like to congratulate all award winners and I look forward to another successful season for football in Tasmania in 2023.”


Football Tasmania 2022 Awards




NPL Tasmania Referee of the Year

Brenton Kopra


WSL Tasmania Referee of the Year

Alex Tween


NPL Best and Fairest

Kobe Kemp

Kingborough Lions United Football Club

WSL Best and Fairest

Jazmin White

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

NPL Rising Start

Curtis Miley

Clarence Zebras Football Club

WSL Rising Star

Elianna Diafokeris

Clarence Zebras Football Club

NPL Coach of the Year

Lino Sciulli

Launceston City Football Club

WSL Coach of the Year

Malcolm Gorrie

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

Walter Pless Media Award

Eli Luttmer

Glenorchy Knights

MyState Women’s Media Award

Ellie La Monte

Launceston United Football Club

NPL Golden Boot

Roberto Fernandez Garrido

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

WSL Golden Boot

Jazmin White

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

NPL Golden Glove

Keegan Smith

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

WSL Golden Glove

Brooke Bennett

Devonport City Strikers Football Club

NPL Player’s Player

Nick Morton

South Hobart Football Club

WSL Player’s Player

Danielle Kannegiesser

Kingborough Lions United Football Club



Anonymous said...

Does anyone know what the final leaderboard was in the NPL Tas and WSL Player of the Year awards? Surely this can't be too hard for FT to cobble together and release on the night? I know Kemp polled 33 votes, but who were the top 5? top 10? Leading vote getter from each club? It's like it is some sort of closely guarded secret.

Anonymous said...

Why stop at ten. Top 50...