Thursday, September 24, 2009

Knights' awards night

Photos (Top to Bottom): Alex Holmes...senior best and fairest; Tom member; The late Peter Huigsloot has an award named after he is in action, in the green shirt heading the ball, for Rapid against Metro at South Hobart; Brodie Green (left), Jade Clay (centre) and Josh Fielding (background) all won awards

Alex Holmes was Glenorchy Knights’ Premier League side’s best-and-fairest player for the 2009 season.

Holmes, a central defender, joined the club this season from South Hobart.

Prior to that, he was with Taroona.

Jade Clay was the players’ player of the year and also took out the Patron’s Award for the best senior player.

Amadu Koroma was the Premier League’s side’s leading scorer with 13 goals.

In the Premier League Reserves, Mathew Nowicki was the leading scorer with 9 goals, while the same player also collected the under-19s’ leading scorer award, having netted 15 times.

Andrew Robb was the reserves’ best-and-fairest player and Carlos Fuentes the players’ player-of-the-year.

Michael Garland was the under-19s’ most improved player, while the ‘best-and-fairest’ award and the players’ player-of-the-year award went to Wilson Kyalondawa.

Shelley Cook won the Premier League Women’s top goalscorer award, while Brenda Nevin and Georgia Griffiths-Lee shared the best-and-fairest award.

Danielle Nossiter was the women’s Premier League players’ player-of-the-year.

In the Women’s Division One team, Danielle Nossiter was the top scorer, Colleen Finn the best and fairest, and Tamika Smith the players’ player-of-the-year.

Tom Huigsloot, who was awarded Life Membership of Glenorchy Knights, was the top scorer in the Men’s Division Two team, with Marijan Begovic the best and fairest and Tom Huigsloot the players’ player-of-the-year.

In the Men’s Division Three side, Spencer Gibbs was top scorer with 10 goals, Andrew Tomkins the best and fairest, and Tony Jelovic the players’ player-of-the-year.

The Milan Lakoseljac Top Goalscorer award was shared between Jade Clay, James Hope and Brodie Green.

The Billy Krawczyk Encouragement Award for the ‘outstanding youth player that shows promise’, went to Brodie Green.

The Joe Udovicic Under-16 Encouragement Award for the ‘rising junior player with great potential’ went to Mathew Nowicki.

The Women’s Outstanding Achievement Award for the player whose achievement is considered to be outstanding went to Bianca Walker.

Josh Fielding took out the Peter Huigsloot Most Dedicated Player Award.

The Vin McKay Best Club Person award was shared by the Garland family and the Minnucci family.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

god bless huigi. can't believe he has passed on.. a gentle giant who never had a bad word to say about anyone. It was a pleasure to play with the big man. I remember him scoring a vital winner for us against olympia. The sheer delight on his face when he scored knowing he did it for his team, not himself. That was the mark of the man