Saturday, September 26, 2009

South Hobart awards night

Photos(Top to Bottom): Gary Upton; Hanna Manuela; Kostas Kanakaris, Ken Morton, Liam Scott and Shae Hickey; Simon Burrett, Seth Otte and Nathan Wardle

Gary Upton won South Hobart’s senior Premier League side’s best player award at the club’s trophy presentation dinner on Friday night.

Upton was not present at the dinner. He is currently in the UK and Jed Donoghue accepted the award on his behalf.

Upton also won the coach’s award.

Liam Scott took out the players’ player-of-the-year award and the ‘most improved’ category.

Shae Hickey was named as the most consistent player, while Kostas Kanakaris was the Premier League side’s leading scorer.

In the club’s Premier League reserves awards, Simon Burrett was the leading scorer and the most consistent player, while youngster Hugo Bladel was the most improved.

Tom Veness earned the coach’s award, Nathan Wardle the players’ player-of-the-year award, and Wardle and Seth Otte shared the ‘best player’ title.

In the Premier Women’s competition, Amy Whitney was the leading scorer, Brigitte Raymond the most improved, and Ella Blackburn won the coach’s award.

Danielle Raymond was the most consistent, while Hanna Manuela was announced as the player’s player of the year and the best player.

In the Under-19s, Dylan Postma was the leading marksman, Kieran Roach the most improved, and David Woolley won the coach’s award.

Max Rintoul and Michael Hughes shared the ‘most consistent’ award and Nick Cuthbertson and Tom Bilson the players’ player-of-the-year award, while Cuthbertson took out the ‘best player’ award.

Amy Whitney was the club’s leading scorer, Jed Donoghue was presented with the President’s Award and Greg Downes with the Chairman’s Award.

Katie Barker was named as the ‘Club Person of the Year’, and Drew Charlton as the “Junior Clubman of the Year”.

South Hobart again won the Premier League and the Premier League Reserve league titles this year.

Ken Morton will again be the senior coach next year, which will be the club’s centenary year.

No comments: