Sunday, October 18, 2009

Hugo Luttmer is Taroona's players' player-of-the-year

Photos (Top to Bottom): Hugo Luttmer; Llewyn Tubb; Ruaidhri Carey, Bryce Clarke and Daniel Palmer; Richard Nettlefold and Phil Gale; Laura Wilsdon; The Division 2 Women's team with coach Owen Tubb; Karen Wills, Owen Tubb and Stratia Anagnostis; Karen Wills; Hiroshi Sagawa; Mark Painter, Chris Hutchinson, Peter Thompson and Jon Stagg; The Carey Family; Ben Horgan; Premier David Bartlett; Emma Bridge; John Meehan

Central defender Cian Carey, 32, was voted Taroona’s best-and-fairest senior Division One player at the newly promoted club’s presentation dinner on Saturday night.

Hugo Luttmer hopped straight off a plane from Sydney, where he had been attending the Masters’ Games, to attend the dinner and receive his Division One players’-player-of-the-year award.

Llewyn Tubb won the coach’s award, which was presented to him by senior coach, Ben Horgan.

Premier David Bartlett was a guest at the dinner and presented the club’s Division One side with their premiership-winning trophy and medals.

Division 3 coach Peter Thompson presented his team’s awards, which went to Sam Prescott (players’ player), Mark painter (coach’s award) and Jon Stagg (best and fairest).

Under-19s coach Alan Parrott presented that team’s players’ player-of-the-year award to Richard Nettlefold, who also took out the coach’s award, while Phil Gale won the best-and-fairest award.

Title-winning Women’s Division 2 coach Owen Tubb presented his coach’s award to Stratia Anagnostis, the players’ player-of-the-year award to Megan Tubb, and the best-and-fairest award to Karen Wills.

The Women’s Division One coach’s award was shared by Pru Evans and Jess Davenport-Hortle, while Laura Wilsdon won the best-and-fairest trophy.

Coach Greg McVeigh presented the Reserves’ awards to joint players’ player-of-the-year winners Bryce Clarke and Ruaidhri Carey.

Clarke also won the coach’s award and Ruaidhri Carey and Daniel Palmer shared the best-and-fairest award.

The Rohner Best Team Player award went to Ruaidhri Carey, while the Best Club Person award was won by Fiona Carey, wife of Cian Carey.

The ‘Busted Guitar’ award was presented to Hiroshi ‘Skipper’ Sagawa.

Out-going president Emma Bridge, who has served for two years, also addressed the 100 or so guests, thanking everyone at the club for their efforts.

The MC on the night was John Meehan, who thanked the Taroona Lounge Bar for their sponsorship for next season in the Premier League.


Southern said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Southern said...

Hi Walter,

It was a great night - a fantastic turnout....and thanks heaps for the coverage.