Sunday, October 4, 2009

Michael Bulis wins Hobart Olympic's top award

Photos (Top to Bottom): Michael Bulis, Hobart Olympic's senior best-and-fairest player and leading marksman; Robert Lebski, Olympic's most consistent senior player; Amelia Jones, Bliss Cantrell and Adele Jarvis scooped the women's awards; Clubman-of-the-Year John Moutsatsos; Out-going president Steve Kaproulias (left) welcomes new president George Mamacas to the helm

Michael Bulis is Hobart Olympic’s best-and-fairest Premier League player for 2009.

He was presented with his award at the club’s awards dinner at the Hellenic Hall last night.

The Olympic striker, who scored 15 times in the league to be the club’s leading scorer in the Premier League and the equal third marksman in the top flight, also finished runner-up in the Vic Tuting Silver Medal count on Friday night.

Defender Robert Lebski was named as the club’s most consistent player.

In the Under-19s, Matthew Huizing was the best-and-fairest player, while Dipendra Kunwar was the leading scorer.

In the Women’s Division One team, Theresa Fiotakis was the ‘Most Improved’ player and Kate Murray the best-and-fairest player.

Colin Banks was the best-and-fairest in the Premier Reserves and was presented with the Luka Mamacas Trophy by Luka Mamacas Junior.

The top scorer was Emmanuel Tsakiris and the most consistent player was Aaron Percy.

John Moutsatsos was named as the ‘clubman of the year’, while Dipendra Kunwar and Bliss Cantrell were announced as the club’s equal leading scorers and they were presented with their trophies by Voula Karipides.

Cantrell was the Women’s Premier League side’s top scorer, Adele Jarvis was the ‘most consistent’ player and Amelia Jones the best-and-fairest player.

The coach’s award went to Adele Ortmann and Caitlin Hale.

Out-going club president Steve Kaproulias handed over the reins to incoming president George Mamacas, who last served in that position in 2000.

Mamacas said he was determined that the club would revert to its former name of Olympia as it prepares to celebrate its 50th anniversary next year.

Farrell Shaw has stood down as senior coach but a replacement has yet to be named.

Shaw thanked his players and the committee for their efforts during the past season and during his three-year tenure as senior coach.

Defender Chris Tsimiklis, who is in his fifth year of a medical degree next year, will be based in Launceston and may not be able to play for Olympic next season.

No comments: