Tuesday, October 6, 2009

The pride of Lions

Photos (Top to Bottom): Marcello Marchioli; Sarah Cretu; George Harms; The newest life members; old and new life members [Photos courtesy of Warren Iles]

Kingborough Lions United held their annual dinner at the Wrest Point Hotel Casino on Saturday and Eleanor Coleman, Ruth Iles, Charles White, Cameron Ellis and Ross Hinkley were named as the newest life members of the club.

White had, of course, announced his retirement as a senior player at the end of the season.

Marcello Marchioli was presented with the George Arnottt Medal, Sarah Cretu with the Zoe Nolan Medal, and Isaac Lucas with the Bernard Siggins Medal.

Marchioli was the club’s Premier League side’s players’ player-of-the-year, while Lucas won the equivalent award for the Premier Reserves and Innocent Lotet the under-19s award.

The players’ player-of-the-year in the Division Two side was Tony Damm and in the Division Three side Robert New.

Dylan Hartog was the under-19s’ coach’s player of the year, while goalkeeper Adam Coleman received the coach’s award for the Division Two side.

The ‘most influential’ player in Division Three was Felix Fitzgerald.

The best-and-fairest player in Division Four was Rob Riddell and the ‘team player’ was Euan Rodgers.

The ‘most promising’ player in Women’s Division One was Millie-Jo Lamprecht.

In Women’s Division Two, Kate Churchill and Leesa McLean-Freestone shared the players’ player-of-the-year award, while Iona Vialle took out the ‘best-and-fairest’ accolade.

Premier League striker Marcus Bremner was named the ‘most promising youth player’.

Warren Iles and Chase McConnon were presented with the Laurie Harvey Perpetual Trophy for the outstanding club person.

Brian Dale and Fiona Harms were recognised for their outstanding club service and collected the Mike Perrin Perpetual Trophy.

Wayne Quinn, the club’s leading marksman, was presented with The Finishing Touch Trophy.

George Harms was recognised with the President’s Award, while Brad Hughes received a Club Service Award.

Fiona Harms received the Hughes Family Perpetual Trophy, while Certificates of Appreciation were presented to John Fox, Bernard Siggins, Peter Allcock and Tim McConnon.

No comments: