Saturday, October 23, 2010

Brisbane Roar 2-1 Melbourne Victory: Roar make it 8 unbeaten games in a row at home

Photos (Top to Bottom): Leigh an assist for the Victory goal but also played a part in Roar's winner; Melbourne Victory coach, Ernie Merrick, rang an early change to try and turn the game in his side's favour; Melbourne Victory defender Adrian Leijer contributed to Roar's winning goal but almost scored for his side near the end [PlessPix]

Brisbane Roar 2-1 Melbourne Victory


Brisbane Roar remain second and moved to within 3 points of A-League leaders Adelaide City with this stirring 2-1 win over fifth-placed Melbourne Victory at SunCorp Stadium in Brisbane tonight.

The Roar took the lead in the 26th minute through a close-range shot by Mitch Nichols after a short-corner routine on the left.

Former Roar star Robbie Kruse equalised three minutes after the resumption following an excellent attack by Victory involving Leigh Broxham and Carlos Hernandez.

Victory coach, Ernie Merrick, had brought Broxham on during the first half for Mate Dugandzic in an effort to spark his team into life.

Ivan Franjic squandered a great chance for the Roar in the 56th minute after Thomas Broich’s shot was partially blocked and the ball looped up and landed at Franjic’s feet, leaving him with a clear sight of goal.

Roar coach Ange Postecoglou brought on Kosta Barbarouses and Jean Carlos Solorzano in place of Reinaldo and Nichols in the 64th minute and this had the required effect.

Solorzano hit the winner in the 77th minute after a marvellous run from his own half by Luke DeVere, who beat three opponents on the way. A desperate tackle by Adrian Leijer finally dispossessed DeVere, but the ball rebounded off broxham and into the path of Solorzano, who netted with ease from close range.

Victory, inspired by their cool-headed captain, Kevin Muscat, continued to press for an equaliser, but Roar keeper Michael Theoklitos was able to deal with everything they threw at him.

Theoklitos produced three first-class saved in the closing six minutes to thwart the visitors, who suffered their first defeat at the hands of the Roar since September 2008.

And, Melbourne Victory are the only side that have beaten Roar this season, so this result was sweet revenge for the Queensland outfit, which has now gone seven games without defeat.

They are now unbeaten at home for eight matches.


Brisbane Roar: Theoklitos - Franjic, Devere, Smith, Mundy - Paartalu - Murdocca, McKay, Nichols (Barbarouses 64), Broich (Visconte 83) - Reinaldo (Solorzano 64) [Substitute not used: Redman]

Goals: Nichols 26, Solorzano 77

Melbourne Victory: Petkovic - Leijer, Muscat, Vargas - Dugandzic ([Broxham 30] Angulo 81), Celeski, Pondeljak (Kellaway 81) - Ricardinho, Hernandez, Kruse [Substitute not used: Mattei]

Booked: Petkovic

Goals: Kruse 48

Att: 9,425

Ref: P Green

No comments: