Sunday, February 14, 2010

Sydney FC win A-League 'minor' premiership

Sydney FC won the A-League title at the Sydney Football Stadium this afternoon with a 2-0 win over second-placed Melbourne Victory.

Gold Coast United finished third.

Frank Lowy, chairman of Football Federation Australia, presented the Premier’s Trophy to Sydney FC after the match.

Karol Kisel opened the scoring for Sydney in the 34th minute. Alex Brosque headed the ball into Kisel’s path and he hammered home a shot from 25 metres.

Four minutes after the interval, John Aloisi won the ball in the centre-circle and set off on a long run into the Melbourne half before firing home a superb shot from just outside the box to make it 2-0.

Nik Mrdja almost pulled a goal back for Melbourne in the 57th minute, but he fired against the right-hand post from just inside the penalty area.

This was the first time Sydney FC have won the Premier's Plate in the A-League since its inception.

It was Sydney’s eleventh home win of the season and it was played in front of a crowd of 25,407.

Melbourne's Robbie Kruse suffered a suspected broken leg, whole Sydney captain Steve Corica went off injured early in the match.

Melbourne certainly missed the suspended Kevin Muscat and the injured Archie Thompson.


Anonymous said...


Sydney won the Grand Final in the first year of the A-League.

Thanks for all of your reports on the weekend matches.

Walter said...

Anonymous, yes I do know that, but was it from first place? The commentators today stated it was their first-ever silverware, so maybe they're looking at it from a first-past-the-post viewpoint and not from the perspective of a grand final win.

Comments and views on this appreciated.

Anonymous said...

Another shocking tackle on kruse he must be a prick on the field because no one likes him.

Looking forward to the game thurs night in Melb

smithers ol man said...

Walter the finals draw for a-league is done but i dont have the info yet.its ment to be on news in nsw tonight but alas im watching the cricket first

Anonymous (from before) said...

Interesting point Walter,

This was discussed on 'Offsiders' this morning (i.e. the Australian obsession with having a post-season grand final).

It is a similar situation in the AFL (sorry, that might be blasphemy here) where the first placed team receives the McClelland Trophy. But who remembers these winners?

We probably need an alternative competition to take the place of the post-season A-League finals, then things will be less ambiguous.

Walter said...

The commentators have just clarified things by saying it is the first time Sydney FC have won the Premier's Plate (the prize for the so-called 'minor' premiership). I have amended the report to clarify this.

Thanks everyone for your comments. Much appreciated.

Richard Bennett said...

Anon 7.31
the mclleland trophy in the old VFL was awarded to the club with the highest aggregate of points for the senior, reserves and under 19 teams at the end of the home and away season. the points were weighted higher for a senior win than under 19's.

effectively the club with the best overall team performances would win it and not neccessarily the premier team in each level.

I don't think it is awarded now as the reserves and under 19's competitions are not all directly AFL club teams anymore.

I still favour the champion team being the team on top of the table at the end of the season and not a tacked on cup system of finals.

but it's up to the majority to decide the best system.

Unknown said...

Went to the game, great atmosphere. I was in the 'cove' and got covered in beer when sydney scored. Reminded me of games back in the uk. Better atmosphere than old nsl by far. Well done Sydney

Richard Bennett said...

your a convert now Macca? what was the playing standard like as the league has had some critics for relying on physical prowess.

I know you will have an opinion.

Anonymous said...

About time the Syd public supported them.

Great to see 25k in the rain aswell.

Anonymous said...


Thanks for the background on the McClelland Trophy. However, i'm sure it's still presented to the team that finishes first at the end of the home and away season.

Perhaps this is just more proof of the irrelevancy of it all :)