Thursday, July 16, 2009

Southern Tasmanian Women's squad announced

Photos (Top to Bottom): Sisters Harkana (left) and Marlugu Dixon will play against each other; Hanna defender for the South

The Southern Tasmanian women's squad to play the Northern Women at Aurora Stadium on 26 July has been announced.

The squad is: Holly Ayton, Madeleine Jona, Alex McNeill, Melinda Minstrell (University), Hanna Manuela, Brigitte Raymond, Danielle Raymond (South Hobart), Emily Mangione (Tilford Zebras), Kathryn McLeod, Michaela Brighella (Clarence United), Sarah Fitzgerald, Vanessa Jihnson, Darah Morris, Amelia Jones, Bliss Cantrell (Hobart Olympic), Isolina Ottavi, Ashlee Tolman, Harkana Dixon, Tayla Thomas, Lucy Foote (Tasmanian Institute of Sport).

Coach: Jean-Pierre Raymond; Manager: John Fiotakis; Trainer: Sandra Chisholm

This power-packed squad will do well against the northerners (squad named earler this month and available on this blog).

Sarah Fitzgerald is, of course, one of Tasmania's best-ever players and has interstate and international experience, while Melinda Minstrell has played professionally in Japan and America and has appaered for University's senior men's side in the southern Premier League.

Vanessa Johnson and Bliss Cantrell have loads of top-level local experience with Nelson and New Town Eagles.

Jean-Pierre Raymond is an experienced senior coach and has been in charge of men' and women's teams at Premier League level.

The match will kick-off at 3.15pm, immediately after the A-League friendly between Melbourne Victory and Adelaide United.

1 comment:

Holly Ayton said...

...also players like Taylor Thomas and Lucy Foote playing TIS and competing away in China. The team was full of talented and experienced players who all played quality football. Hope that this year we are able to play more than one game.