Friday, September 24, 2010

Bart Beecroft takes top award at South Hobart trophy night

Photos (Top to Bottom): Bart Beecroft took out the best-and-fairest award; Jonathan Dernard was the Division 4 side's best-and-fairest player; Daniel Brown was the senior team's players' player of the year; Dean Jones, top scorer for the Division 4 side, flanked by Garry Upton and Hugo Bladel; Top scorer for the seniors, Jonathon Lo, with his proud father, William Lo; Senior coach Ken Morton delivers his speech; Tom Bilson almost scooped the pool in the under-19 awards; Dylan Postma was the leading scorer in the under-19s; David Cooper (left) and Jimmy James; Reserves' coach Jed Donohue with best-and-fairest and players' player-of-the-year award recipient David Cooper; Ken Morton and partner and club president Vicki Woods; South Hobart's webmaster Moreeta Pennicott; Max Clarke, the club's top scorer; (L-R) Jonathon Lo, Shae Hickey, Tom Roach, Hugh Ludford and Bart Beecroft with the 'Walker Award'; The soon-to-be medico Tom Roach with some vital medicinal fluid; A group of senior players take a bow [PlessPix]

Bart Beecroft was voted South Hobart’s best-and-fairest Premier League player at the club’s trophy presentation dinner at Zum tonight.

Beecroft captained the side to a Tasmanian record of 34 unbeaten matches, in which South Hobart collected all five trophies on offer in the State.

Beecroft will not play for South Hobart next season as he is moving to Melbourne in his employment.

Jonathon Lo was the Premier League side’s leading scorer with 18 goals, while the players’ player of the year was defender Daniel Brown.

In the Reserves, who won their fifth league title in a row, David Cooper was the best-and-fairest player with 41 votes, and he also took out the players’ player-of-the-year award.

Dylan Postma was the leading scorer for the under-19s, while Tom Bilson won the best-and-fairest award and the players’ player-of-the-year award.

In South Hobart’s Division 4 side, which had a squad of 39 players, Jonathan Dernard won the players’ player-of-the-year award and the best-and-fairest trophy.

Dernard, a Frenchman from Lyon, was in his first season with the club and also made an appearance for the reserves.

The top scorer for the Division 4 side was Dean Jones, a former NSL player from New South Wales.

Fifteen-year-old Max Clarke was South Hobart’s overall top scorer with 38 goals.

The club will have its centenary dinner next Friday at Tattersall’s Park.

South Hobart coach Ken Morton thanked his players, committee and supporters for the magnificent achievements this season.

Morton and 11 youngsters from the Morton Soccer School leave Tasmania on 7 October for a visit to the UK, where they will train at the Manchester United youth academy facilities and take in the English Premier League match between Manchester United and West Bromwich Albion at Old Trafford.

No comments: